The governing body at Brookdale Primary School has a range of duties and powers and a general responsibility for the conduct of the school with a view to promoting high standards of educational achievement.


Its responsibilities include but are not limited to:


•setting targets for pupil achievement
•managing the school's finances
•making sure the curriculum is balanced and broadly based
•appointing staff
•reviewing staff performance and pay.




Governing Body Members 2018-2019


Chair of Governors - John Hughes

Vice Chair of Governors - Ruth Doig

Staff Governor -  Gareth Jones (Class teacher).  Appointed by Staff

Co-opted Governors -   Ruth Doig, Gill Knapton, Susan Elliott, Christine Vickers, John Hughes, Neil Hampson.  Appointed by Governing Body

Parent Governors - Paul Barber, Andrew Waland.  Appointed by Governing Body

Local Authority Governor - Wendy Clements.  Appointed by Local Authority

Clerk to Governors - Karen Dodd.



Full Governing Body meetings (2018-2019)


- October 9th 2018 (5.00pm)

- November 27th 2018 (5.00pm)

- March 12th 2019 (5.00pm)

- June 25th 2019 (5.00pm)